One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-11-21 20:25:26

kaidu

Not very accessible for new players

Hi,

I bought the game yesterday and really enjoy the idea and concept of the game. However, it is really hard for new players to settle in.

Don't get me wrong: I have no problems reading a bit in the forum, in the wiki and so on. And I did so before starting the game. But this teaches you just the basics. The problem is: People in the game do nothing to help you. If you ask how you can help, you are just insulted as noob. I know, the game is on steam sales and now many new players rush the game. But while I'm new to this game, I'm not stupid. If somebody just explain me what to do, I can figure out the rest myself. And it often takes only a minute to teach new players. If people tell me: "plant carrots!", then I can open the techtree and figure out how to do that. But even this single sentence is often too much. In fact, people rather spend minutes to blame people for being noob, instead of helping.

Blaming somebody for beeing new is stupid anyways. If it is necessary to watch hours of lets play videos before starting the game, you can say that in a  kind way.

But my understanding of the game, based on its mechanics, is that old people are responsible for teaching the new ones. Thats's the reason for old people to be able to write long chat messages. But nobody seem to take care of new players.

It is also a very stupid strategy to do so: if nobody tells new players what to do, they start doing something therself, like taking some tools, standing in the smith, using a bow to hunt animals and accidentally kill other people. Actually, I guess most "griending" is done by new players who just don't know what to do. So spending a few minutes for new players might be a smart strategy to avoid griending.