One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-07-02 02:10:54

AmberA

South Qin Memorial Garden - The true tale of a magical garden

By day I’m a game producer and UI artist but by night in One Hour One Life, I’m Amber and I’m the gardener.

This is the true story of South Qin Memorial Garden, if it had a name that’s what it would be called. I was born into the Qin family and was told that three cities were all linked going from North to South. The southernmost city has a garden. I didn’t create the garden, someone else did. The garden had at its center several ripe mango trees surrounded by a wooden walk path that weaved it’s way around, hugging the edges of the tree-line. Surrounding the mango grove were blooming pink rose bushes and bright greens trees. You could enter from the north and exit the little garden in the south. That is when I decided to expand the garden. I added more pathways so people could walk in from four directions and a foot path that surrounded the whole garden. When I died I hoped to see it again.

The next time I found myself as a Qin, I again headed to the garden to continue my work. I added more roses: one by one taking a precious seed into the snow. I spend my entire life tending the trees; watering and feeding them, and clearing the walkways. Someone saw what I was doing…maybe it was my child…I’m sorry my memory fades it was so long ago. But this person added a Cistern to be a sparkling blue fountain in the garden. There was a spot under the mango right in the middle where I thought, “when I die, I’d like to go there, I’d spent so much time taking care of this.” But I was so caught up in expanding the garden that I forgot to ask and then someone else came by and buried someone else in that spot. I felt sad, like my spot had been taken, but it was never my spot.