One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-06-05 11:05:57

Mushroom

Is Jason's coding really spaghetti?

I belive Toxic said something like that in recent thread.

I have no experience in coding whatsoever, but I kida know how it works in general and why sometimes you can do something and why sometimes you can't. But I am curious if what Toxic said is true and why.

And if this really is a mess, can you repair it somehow? Or would it require to write the game from scratch?

Dickbutt

#2 2019-06-05 11:26:42

Valareos

Re: Is Jason's coding really spaghetti?

Depends on definition of "Spaghetti"

As a coder, when I hear spaghetti code, it usually means code without proper documentation, or layout. When you look at properly designed code, you see a lot of comments (like //Build database) and brackets lined up to where close brackets are vertically aligned to the line that opened that bracket.

Spaghetti code, then is code where it is very hard to see where one bit of code ends and another begins.

Jason's code is very well laid out, easy to follow, and certainly not what I would describe spaghetti code

Most Memorable Life : Elisabeth Peters, Adopted by Flint Peters.  Gen 59, LD 36

#3 2019-06-05 11:27:05

Toxic
Banned

Mushroom wrote:

I belive Toxic said something like that in recent thread.

I have no experience in coding whatsoever, but I kida know how it works in general and why sometimes you can do something and why sometimes you can't. But I am curious if what Toxic said is true and why.

And if this really is a mess, can you repair it somehow? Or would it require to write the game from scratch?