One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-14 23:24:50

jasonrohrer
Administrator

An observation

I've been doing this for 15 years.

I've been interacting with "my community" pretty heavily and regularly for the last 9 or so years.

But something has definitely changed over time.

Back in 2014, with The Castle Doctrine, the was a large community of players that was deeply invested in the game, and on board with all kinds of experiments that I undertook in order to make the game better.  The same was true with Cordial Minuet, for the most part.

On the surface, these communities looked and functioned pretty much just like this community.  I'd post ideas for how to fix and improve the game, and we'd discuss them, and people would help me find holes in my ideas, and I'd implement the best ideas, and then people would play, and discuss how the changes affected the play.  And The Castle Doctrine (as an example), just kept getting better and better and better as a result of this process.

Much the same way that OHOL just keeps getting better and better over time, as a result of this process.  Plenty of bumps along the way, of course, but overall a way better and more interesting and complex and stable and performant game than it was a year ago.

(And of course, OHOL is a much better and more fascinating game than The Castle Doctrine, and a gargantuan technical achievement, by comparison).

So what's changed?

The tenor of the discussion.  The rush to judgement.  The amount of complaining.  The amount of personal attacks.  The amount of entitlement from the playerbase.  The review bombing, etc.

And this is not just my experience.  It's the common experience of every developer who interacts with a player community.

Here's a whole article written about it, albeit with much worse reactions than the ones I get (so I guess I should count myself as lucky):