One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-21 01:37:34

jasonrohrer
Administrator

Update: Good Fences Good Neighbors

06adIhb.gif

First, the big news:  Potato digging no longer wears out shovels.  May you rejoice with baked, fried, or ketchup'd.

Beyond that, this week's update involves a game-changing experiment.  What if individual or group ownership was an actual thing in the game?

As a designer, I have some pretty big dreams for this game, in terms of what kind of social dynamics will emerge from it.  While I'm very happy with some of the complex interactions that have blossomed inside the game, I feel like some other possibilities have been stunted.  Where's trade?  Where are the stores?  Where's resource contention?  Where's crime?  Where's trans-generational conflict?  Where are the sheriffs? Where are the monarchs?  Where are the guillotines?

Now, there are probably dozens of reasons why such things have not emerged in the game, but I'm starting with the most obvious one:  how can you trade when everything is just laying there, ready for the taking?  When there is no ownership?

And long ago, I did add atoms to the game that would supposedly enable ownership (walls, doors, locks, and keys).  But they are so expensive to make, and such a burden to use in practice, that people have never been able to build functional ownership systems with these atoms.  If it takes three lifetimes to successfully build a locked bakery before you can actually start trading your bread, your family is going to lose the thread before it ever gets off the ground.