One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-26 19:16:26

jarrah
Member
Registered: 2018-11-20
Posts: 3

Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

Hi Everyone,

I've been experimenting with the private server so that my kids (and I) can learn how to play the game before heading to the main servers.

The trouble is it seems the settings to specify eve spawn locations aren't working. For example, I obtain X and Y coordinates from the server logs from where they set up a base, and specify them in the following files:

forceEveLocationX.ini = 55
forceEveLocationY.ini = 37

When they re-spawn as eve, it's never back at the same place, and each time appears to be a different location.

I've also tried setting forceEveLocation.ini to 1 and 0, but that doesn't have an effect.

v172 server and client.

Any thoughts or advice please?

Thanks.

Last edited by jarrah (2018-11-26 19:22:30)

Offline

#2 2018-11-26 20:46:14

lionon
Member
Registered: 2018-11-19
Posts: 532

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

works for me.

There are multiple "settings" directories tough, maybe you didn't do that files in the server one?

Offline

#3 2018-11-27 01:23:55

GreatShawn
Member
Registered: 2018-09-08
Posts: 381

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

Wait... teaching your kids how to play? I am a 13 year old and I learned all by myself. Maybe because im asian

Offline

#4 2018-11-27 06:09:45

lionon
Member
Registered: 2018-11-19
Posts: 532

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

Well I taught myself on a private server.

It's nice to practice for example smithing or making your own cart with tires the first time etc. before doing it in the real game.

I'm renting already a VPS for other reasons, maybe I put a practice server there online also when I got sometime to tweak some further settings instead of no hunger and no aging.

Offline

#5 2018-11-27 07:50:55

mikekchar
Member
Registered: 2018-03-19
Posts: 51

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

Yeah, I've been caught by that before.  The settings directory it uses is the one in the directory that you were in when you ran the server.  So if you copy the server executable out to the top level, and run it from there, you have to use the settings in that directory.  If you run it from the source code directory (which I don't recommend because it may have troubles updating the directory in the future), you have to change the settings there.  The script that rebuilds the everything (but *not* the server!) is fairly rudimentary and if git fails to update the source code, it just plows ahead anyway.  So it's best to copy the server directory up out of the source code and use the settings in that directory.

Offline

#6 2018-11-27 12:46:48

jarrah
Member
Registered: 2018-11-20
Posts: 3

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

It's certainly worth double checking the settings directory just in case, but I can confirm I'm using the correct location because changing minFoodDecrementSeconds.ini in the same settings dir does have an effect in game.

It's good to know that specifying an eve location should work so perhaps I'm doing something wrong.

Do you also have forceEveLocation.ini set to 1 when setting the X and Y values?

Do you use whole numbers in X and Y?

Where do you obtain the coordinates from to use in these files? e.g. which of these indicates the correct location?

Got client message from 12: MOVE -140 391 @138 1 -1 0 -2 -1 -2
Object moving from (9999852,567) to (9999856,571)
Player 12's move is done at 9999859,564
Got client message from 12: USE -141 390

When would forcing eve's location actually occur? Logic tells me it would apply to the first person who logs into the server if no other players exist. In my situation though, eve's starting point varies each time even though I have them set at X and Y.

Just to confirm, do you see anything wrong with this?

settings $ cat forceEveLocation.ini
1
settings $ cat forceEveLocationX.ini
55
settings $ cat forceEveLocationY.ini
37

Thanks in advance!

Offline

#7 2018-11-27 12:52:29

lionon
Member
Registered: 2018-11-19
Posts: 532

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

jarrah wrote:

Do you also have forceEveLocation.ini set to 1 when setting the X and Y values?

Yes

jarrah wrote:

Do you use whole numbers in X and Y?

yes

jarrah wrote:

Where do you obtain the coordinates from to use in these files? e.g. which of these indicates the correct location?

Exactly as you said from server log where I first build my home.

When would forcing eve's location actually occur?

First login, don't have more logins to try out.

Just to confirm, do you see anything wrong with this?

settings $ cat forceEveLocation.ini
1
settings $ cat forceEveLocationX.ini
55
settings $ cat forceEveLocationY.ini
37

Thanks in advance!

Looks fine, if it is the correct directory my second guess would be permissions. Does the server have permissions to read the files? Or did you e.g. make them as root and run the server as user.

Last edited by lionon (2018-11-27 12:52:56)

Offline

#8 2018-11-27 12:55:35

lionon
Member
Registered: 2018-11-19
Posts: 532

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

You can see the relevant matching code in server.cpp line 4629

        if( SettingsManager::getIntSetting( "forceEveLocation", 0 ) ) {

            startX = 
                SettingsManager::getIntSetting( "forceEveLocationX", 0 );
            startY = 
                SettingsManager::getIntSetting( "forceEveLocationY", 0 );
            }

so forceEveLocation needs to be anything but 0 (where in C++ 0 defaults to false and everything else to true) and the other files would change the cords, otherwise it would default you to 0/0 coords.

Offline

#9 2018-11-27 15:21:02

subria
Member
Registered: 2018-06-11
Posts: 85

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

I want ask a question. Where I can find this forceEveLocation.ini?


Ownership is the solution for everything.

Offline

#10 2018-11-27 15:33:08

lionon
Member
Registered: 2018-11-19
Posts: 532

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

subria wrote:

I want ask a question. Where I can find this forceEveLocation.ini?

You have to create it.

Offline

#11 2018-11-27 20:29:56

jasonrohrer
Administrator
Registered: 2017-02-13
Posts: 4,805

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

Looking at the code, there are a three cases that will cause this setting to be ignored:


1.  The character is cursed.

2.  The character has requested the tutorial.

3.  The character is not Eve (being born as a baby).

Offline

#12 2018-11-27 22:19:39

jarrah
Member
Registered: 2018-11-20
Posts: 3

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

Thanks All and Jason!

It looks like it was indeed related to my settings folder permissions, specifically the eve location files (I must have messed them up by accident whilst trying to make it work). I’ve now corrected them and confirm eve location is now working as expected.

@subria it depends where you set the server up. Mine is /ohol/OneLife/server/settings/

Last edited by jarrah (2018-11-27 22:21:21)

Offline

#13 2018-11-28 18:55:25

subria
Member
Registered: 2018-06-11
Posts: 85

Re: Private Server forceEveLocation X and Y Not Working

@Jarrah: Thank you. I found it.


Ownership is the solution for everything.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB