One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-01-15 08:11:35

Dantox

The biggest flaw of OHOL its the foundation

I dont think the engine is capable to actually bring OHOL beyond the stone age (and with that i mean to actually *feel* that we are progressing, having steel tools or fancy clothing is pretty much just an illusion of progression)

I am not a programmer, neither a game designer, so i am mostly talking out of my butt here, but if i understand correctly the engine works mostly on timers, transitions and tiles (you can see this with Onetech) which not only limits what can be realisticly added to the game but it also is pretty time-consuming with the implementation of all sprites.

We cannot have seasons, day and night cycles, any type of bodies of water aside from ponds and having more than one person to seat in a vehicle wtihout requiring to rework the engine or having to work your way around it without making barely working and making it buggy. Everything that it seems to be important for the progress of a civilization seems impossible or very hard to make with the current engine. And having only *one* person working on it seems almost crazy for me. Crazier the fact that last year was mostly spent on gathering data and broken mechanics that do not longer apply or are unusable due to hyper-nerfing (example swords!) with also a pretty confusing design choices on progress (Ability to fly to the skies, extract oil from the ground and use working cars, but still dependant adobe stations and round-stones)