One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-09 22:06:49

lychee

Improving the Wiki

Hiya!

There's a bunch of information that's out of date on the wiki (e.g. Milkweed doesn't respawn automatically when plucked at a fruiting stage, digging potatoes doesn't cost uses to shovels anymore)... and a bunch of other little things everywhere.

This makes it really challenging for new players who rely disproportionately on the wiki and youtube videos (also out of date) to learn the game. Onetech is a fantastic resource, but it does not cover popular meta in the game -- e.g. 2x tilling, why compost is important -- so I think it's really quite important to continue updating the wiki.

I started playing OHOL two weeks ago, and I love it dearly, but OHOL has one of the steepest learning curves I've ever found in any game. OHOL also has enormous meta to it, and it's virtually impossible to play without learning the meta. Unfortunately, the public documentation and learning resources for this game are really in shambles.

In order to support the healthy growth of the player base (and not scare them away thanks to the crazy the learning curve), I personally think it's really important to continue developing beginner-friendly resources on high-visibility places like the wiki.

+ + +

Recently, I started to assemble a new guide on the wiki (work in progress), since there's a lot of important information that isn't covered in the Getting Started or Eve guides (both of which are quite messy!).

A few things I wanted to ask:

1. Is it okay if I do this? Is there like a wiki admin or somebody?

2. Is it okay to include meta on the wiki? I'm trying to filter information for (almost) universally accepted meta, but technically it's still meta even if everybody uses "SAY F FOR FOOD". At the minimum, I'd like to cover terminology.