One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-12-30 01:05:09

thundersen

Visualization of lineage duration over time

Im5MtO2.png

I'm currently playing around with the life logs and this is one of my first results. Lineage duration is calculated as the time between Eve birth and the point where the last of her descendants becomes infertile.

I think the plot is pretty self-explanatory, so here are just some random points:
- Well over 90% of all lineages die in less than one hour. I filtered them out to speed up plot generation.
- The Steam release has made >24h lineages possible. Again? I haven't looked into older data yet.
- The award for the longest lineage of over 35h in this time period goes to EVE NEZAT who was born on server 2 at 13:53:57 UTC on November 17. She was the ancestor for a whooping 2135 descendants.
- It begins in October, because that's when I started playing. I can add a longer version later.
- I used Python for downloading and processing the logs. I could share the code, if anybody's interested.

I could imagine looking into the reasons for lineage deaths next, like 0 girls, murders, etc.. If you're interested in that too, I would like to hear ideas on which reasons to consider.

Towns are probably more interesting than families, but lineages are what we have data for. I've been toying with the idea of calculating town locations from the birth and death coordinates in the logs. Not quite sure about how to do that, but it should be possible to identify clusters, which could be classified as towns, if they remain stable over time or reappear. I've never done something like that though... Thoughts?

Last edited by thundersen (2018-12-30 12:03:02)

#2 2018-12-30 01:28:27

Greep

Re: Visualization of lineage duration over time