One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-07 00:35:13

Uncle Gus

10,000 years of human civilisation and we're all still mostly naked

Make clothes, people! Warm people eat less. The only way we will get bigger, more stable settlements is if everybody is clothed. This means farming milkweed on a large scale and trapping rabbits. This is more important than farming because you eat the rabbits anyway, so food isn't an issue.

#2 2018-03-07 00:52:27

xoomorg

Re: 10,000 years of human civilisation and we're all still mostly naked

If we want "bigger, more stable settlements" then I think taking control of the reproduction cycle is key:

https://onehouronelife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=256

If babies are (usually) being spawned in one contained area then it's easier to provide them with clothing right away.  I'm a carrot farmer usually, and have seen attempts at milkweed farming overburden the local water supply, so I'm wary of large scale diversion of resources like that.  But I'm all for clothing.  We should just do a better job of centralizing it and recycling it, and not scattering it all over the world in tiny abandoned villages.

#3 2018-03-07 00:56:01

arbecas

People have trouble farming milkweed because they harvest it at the wrong time

#4 2018-03-07 01:03:45

Uncle Gus

Yeah, for sure. But even when people learn that, it's very rare to find a settlement with more than a handful of milkweeds about. I'm talking mass production, like 40 plots. It's useful for more than just clothes.

#5 2018-03-07 01:11:58

xoomorg