One Hour One Life Forums

a multiplayer game of parenting and civilization building

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-12-20 14:40:18

jcwilk

Buggy high-speed gameplay if alt-tab during the framerate measuring

I stupidly alt-tabbed while the game was starting up and doing the framerate measuing so I could restart the spotify album (I use it to help keep track of my lifespan lol) and when I started playing she was running maybe 2x or 3x as fast as normal and having a lot of trouble picking things up (kept doing that latency thingy where she bounces off an object for a bit til the server acknowledges). Was kind of useful for scouting since I could haul ass but my hunger speed might have been sped up as well. The screen was having trouble keeping up with the map data (kept getting the filler scribbly doodles) and eventually I got eaten by a wolf somehow. My poor homestead :'( :'(

Was playing on windows 8.1, graphics card nvidia geforce gtx 850m

Let me know if you need any more info!

Last edited by jcwilk (2017-12-20 14:40:54)

#2 2017-12-21 00:32:59

jasonrohrer
Administrator

Re: Buggy high-speed gameplay if alt-tab during the framerate measuring

Yeah... this is pretty normal!

The problem is that various graphics cards and monitors have different refresh rates in modern times.  They're not all running at 60fps anymore (well, actually back in the CRT days, none of them were at 60fps anyway).  We've now got 120 and 144 to deal with.

So, the game tries to figure out what kind of situation it's in at startup.  If you mess with this process, it gets a bad measurement.  I think the game was probably running at 30fps or even slower when minimized.

This isn't a bug, exactly.

If you have any thoughts about how to work around this, or how the game should behave if this happens (maybe some kind of warning page if it see you running at under 60fps)...

#3 2017-12-21 08:07:59

jcwilk